top of page
Search

Art

Updated: Apr 2, 2019

Weekly Report 12: 11/05/2018 to 11/12/2018


On Friday I had the opportunity to meet Mr. Mitch Lewis, a freelance artist. Seeing his workspace and the boards of thousands of little sketches was so neat; it was truly inspiring to see his thought process and the visual progression of creating an art piece all tacked up on bulletin boards. Mr. Lewis creates all kinds of different works, ranging from wedding invitation decorations to logos for businesses to website banners to caricatures. Viewing his collection of previous projects was quite interesting in that I began to realize the difference between freelance art and traditional advertising. While Mr. Lewis’ pieces were fascinating to see, I came to the conclusion that, instead of creative advertising, I need to be studying art.


Throughout the entire course of these past two six weeks, I have focused much of my independent research on learning how to draw. Meeting with Mr. Chris Brooks from FastSigns International earlier this year helped me to better understand the importance of utilizing quality artistic principles in creating pieces. When I saw the sketches that these artists created, it became evident that I needed to research the fundamentals of artistic design in order to have a base understanding of art. In doing so, I experimented with a couple different applications, including Adobe Photoshop and ProCreate on the iPad Pro, and realized that I would much rather study art in its true form, so now that I have interviewed five professionals with careers in commercial art and entrepreneurship, I need to begin learning about traditional artists and how they sell their work. There is still a lot to explore in regards to the various mediums and applications available for use by a creative advertising agency, but I want to move forward by refocusing my research to center upon art and building my own brand.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Progression

Weekly Report 28: 4/8/19 to 4/14/19 In order to begin planning how to finish out the creation phase of filming the rest of the content necessary for my final product, this week I met with my mentor to

Bid Proposal

Weekly Report 27: 4/1/19 to 4/7/19 This past week I began researching how to write bid proposals. My final product is creating a marketing video to showcase the transformation of Crux Cigars through t

Moving Forward

Weekly Report 26: 3/25/19 to 3/31/19 This past week I began consolidating the footage for my final product advertising film of interviews and B-roll from mentor visits that I have previously acquired.

bottom of page