top of page
Search

Mentorship

Updated: Apr 2, 2019

Weekly Report 15: 12/10/2018 to 12/16/2018


Last week I met with Mr. Brandon Frakes from Go Local, an advertising company that specializes in video production. Immediately I knew that he was a professional I would love to study under, so I am more than grateful that he is willing to mentor me in creative advertising this year.


Mr. Frakes started Go Local a couple years ago from an idea he had to help local companies compete in the same market as bigger, international firms. Their mission is to sustain long term growth for these companies by deploying comprehensive marketing strategies, one of which features cinematic storytelling. Throughout the first semester of ISM II, most of the research completed centered on entrepreneurship, creativity, and advertising, but with each of these topics being studied separately. Go Local combines all of these areas by working independently as entrepreneurs, creating specialized work through their videos, and developing marketing plans that encompass all aspects of advertising for each client. I am elated to have this incredible opportunity to see freelance artistry meet entrepreneurship and innovation at this organization.


Last year, both my original work and final product for the ISM program were videos. While they have differed in content and style, many of my school projects, mum challenge advertising mechanisms, and volunteer technical work for other organizations have utilized the medium of cinematography. This year my goal was to find an advertising firm that had the capabilities to complete all types of graphics and animation while focusing on one specialty medium. Go Local is the perfect match for these qualifications in that they develop long term plans of action but have the ability to produce their own media and create exquisite content through their videos. I am excited to begin studying with Mr. Frakes and learning from his creative process, and I look forward to sharing my original work with him in order to receive feedback and grow from his teaching.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Progression

Weekly Report 28: 4/8/19 to 4/14/19 In order to begin planning how to finish out the creation phase of filming the rest of the content necessary for my final product, this week I met with my mentor to

Bid Proposal

Weekly Report 27: 4/1/19 to 4/7/19 This past week I began researching how to write bid proposals. My final product is creating a marketing video to showcase the transformation of Crux Cigars through t

Moving Forward

Weekly Report 26: 3/25/19 to 3/31/19 This past week I began consolidating the footage for my final product advertising film of interviews and B-roll from mentor visits that I have previously acquired.

bottom of page