top of page
Search

Original Work

Updated: Apr 2, 2019

Weekly Report 16: 01/07/2019 to 01/13/2019


This past week has been incredibly busy preparing for Frisco ISD’s Independent Study and Mentorship Research Showcase event. Updating both the digital and physical portfolio, creating a display board, and finishing my original work have all consumed my time for the last few days.


Recently, I changed my original work proposal, which forced my project to be completely revised and redone in just a couple weeks. During winter break I experimented with Adobe Photoshop and After Effects, trying to learn how to create motion graphics using the Wacom tablet. This was a huge struggle for me because I was so unsatisfied with the quality of the work I was producing. In realizing how difficult it would be to create an artistic, professional motion design reel using these tools, I decided that it would be a better use of my time to instead work smaller and design minimal motion graphics over a montage video. My new mentor, Mr. Brandon Frakes and Go Local create amazing marketing videos, so I saw editing a marketing video as a better investment of my time in the long run. Mr. Frakes could give me feedback on the advertisement and help me to procure greater videography skills in the process. My original plan for a motion design reel would not have been conducive to learning with Mr. Frakes, and it was an unnecessarily challenging project to have taken on that did not provide much value to my experience in the ISM program.


Earlier this year I spent time researching the importance of specificity for artists. Rather than generalizing in many areas, it is better to hone one’s techniques in a specific realm. I realized that to incorporate this idea into my own work, it would be most beneficial to focus on video marketing, so creating this original work fits much more into the purpose and concentration of my future studies with Go Local. I am so proud of the work that I was able to produce this week, and I hope to gain further insight into how to better my filming and editing skills with my mentor.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Progression

Weekly Report 28: 4/8/19 to 4/14/19 In order to begin planning how to finish out the creation phase of filming the rest of the content necessary for my final product, this week I met with my mentor to

Bid Proposal

Weekly Report 27: 4/1/19 to 4/7/19 This past week I began researching how to write bid proposals. My final product is creating a marketing video to showcase the transformation of Crux Cigars through t

Moving Forward

Weekly Report 26: 3/25/19 to 3/31/19 This past week I began consolidating the footage for my final product advertising film of interviews and B-roll from mentor visits that I have previously acquired.

bottom of page