top of page
Search

Planning

Weekly Report 19: 1/28/19 to 2/3/19


Last week I had the opportunity to receive feedback from my mentor on my original work video. Mr. Frakes shared unique insight into different layering techniques, explained his process for pre-planning his films, and presented exemplary projects to showcase these concepts. It was intriguing to see how big of a difference adding ambient audio and moving titles can make in stimulating visual appeal, but it was even more critical to learn about Mr. Frakes’ planning system. For my original work video and many past projects, I did not design an outline of what types of shots I would be collecting, how to adjust to a warm or cool toned environment, which lenses to bring, et cetera. However, witnessing how effective this method is through viewing Mr. Frakes’ projects inspired me to do the same in the future. By planning prior to filming, I will cut down the time that it takes to film shots at an event, select usable footage after the event, and organize a sequence of clips into a coherent film.


Moreover, for my final product, I would like to apply this system into practice by developing a marketing video for my mentor and his company, Go Local. At my visit, my mentor shared with me that his group was hoping to develop an advertising film for themselves that establishes what services they provide, who works on their team, and an overall brand for their company. My goal is to use the knowledge that I have gained through my mentorship with Mr. Frakes to design a marketing plan and create a video- using their process- that will be added to my portfolio and used by their company for advertising purposes.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Progression

Weekly Report 28: 4/8/19 to 4/14/19 In order to begin planning how to finish out the creation phase of filming the rest of the content necessary for my final product, this week I met with my mentor to

Bid Proposal

Weekly Report 27: 4/1/19 to 4/7/19 This past week I began researching how to write bid proposals. My final product is creating a marketing video to showcase the transformation of Crux Cigars through t

Moving Forward

Weekly Report 26: 3/25/19 to 3/31/19 This past week I began consolidating the footage for my final product advertising film of interviews and B-roll from mentor visits that I have previously acquired.

bottom of page