top of page

But Why?

Weekly Report 08/28/2017 to 09/04/2017

Asking “why” is the only way to achieve progress. This week, the Introductory Presentation assignment required Independent Study and Mentorship students to dig deeper into the meaning behind their passions when talking about how they chose their topics for the year. Considering the causes of why we want to do what we do can help to cultivate an alternative perspective on our career aspirations.

When revisiting some of my memories of past hobbies such as writing, storytelling, and filmmaking, I started to understand how this love of words has transformed into a love of speechwriting and public speaking in court. I can be extremely talkative and easily get carried away when speaking about something with which I am passionate, and by understanding that my strengths lie in this area, I have been subconsciously directed to a path in law where speech is the most important component.

A couple days ago my mom and I were discussing this topic, and she pointed out how powerful words can be. Being able to communicate effectively is a powerful skill to procure; truth can be almost meaningless if the delivery is lacking. The most intriguing politicians are the ones who can convince hundreds of thousands of people to believe a lie. This is why politicians in particular have a bad reputation for being manipulative and sneaky with their ability to speak well, but it does demonstrate the power of words. Public speaking is a skill which I hope to further develop this year in order to be successful in a writing-based workplace someday.

In addition to writing, I have also been thinking about the creative part of me which my parents have been cultivating since I was very little. Fine art, but more specifically painting, sketching, playing the cello and piano, crafting for my dolls, filming videos with my little sisters, and directing our own Broadway productions have been outlets for me to showcase my creativity and innovative mind. Art has become my life, and as strict and uniform as the law sounds, creativity and passion is what makes an attorney interesting and appealing. Their speaking style is what catches the attention of the jury, not the facts of the case. Finding unique and varying approaches to not only analyze and argue for a client, but also vividly tell one’s side of the story is fundamental to a successful trial.

Discovering how my interests and hobbies have led me down the career path with which I am hoping to follow has helped me to find where my strengths lie, and how I can use them in a way that will help to make a positive impact in the community. Understanding how I have piqued an interest in this field has been an extremely beneficial step in learning more about myself and about my passion.


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page