top of page

Spring Break

Weekly Report 03/06/2018 to 03/19/2018

These past two weeks I have been focusing on my final product and the upcoming year. I recently had my spring conference with Mr. Speice and was happy to share how much progress I have made this year. I remember Mr. Speice introducing the ISM program to our GT Humanities class during my sophomore year, and he shared a story about a student who had believed she would be an editor her whole life but changed her mind completely after going through the process. I always thought it was bizarre, that there was no way the same thing could happen to me. However, since my last conference with Mr. Speice discussing how I felt that there was a lack of creativity in the legal world, I have changed my entire outlook on what I want to do with my life. As I have already mentioned various times in my weekly reports, I am heading towards a video marketing path, and although I feel more confused and unsure than I ever did going into the program, I am so much more happy. While I am loving getting to learn more about specific cases and sit in on hearings with my mentor, creative art excites me and I feel this huge passion to get into the real world and start doing something, even if I still have not fully discovered what that is yet.

In addition, I met with my mentor over Spring Break for a visit at the Collin County Courthouse, and then we drove out to a private airport where I was able to interview former Collin County Sheriff Terry Box. I truly enjoyed getting to hear both about his thoughts on gun control and about his whole life. My mentor told me that he is one of the most well-respected individuals in Collin County, and he definitely lived up to that description. Getting to hear about Sheriff Box’s vast experience in the legal world was so incredible, and I loved learning about how he has donated millions to charity through his annual golf tournaments. Earlier this year, my focus was finding a way to be charitable and serve others through a career in the law. Although I am realizing that I may not pursue the law part of this anymore, I still love the idea of being involved in giving back to the community through another means. I was humbled and inspired by Sheriff Box’s big heart for others and would like to be more like him.


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page