top of page

Finally There

Weekly Report 05/21/2018 to 05/30/2018

This past year was filled with everything unexpected. Coming into the program, I was prepared to love the law wholeheartedly and expected I would only be further reassured of my decision to study law this year. However, I was surprised by how much I ended up learning not about the law -- although I did gain so much knowledge in this career field -- but actually about myself.

In the past, I have always considered art to be just a hobby and law as a potential career, but now I have begun to consider art as a career and law instead as a hobby. The ISM program has forced me to recognize the fact that art has been and always will be a major part of my life. I could not escape the fact that both of my parents were music majors and, in fact, met each other in a college band. The fact that I have been playing an instrument since age five, that I created my own photography brand for my dolls when I was younger, that I love video editing and graphic design. While I have not lost my love for the law, I have simply realized that it is too uncreative of a career option for me to pursue.

I cannot believe that I really am at the end with just two days left until summer. This year has gone by so incredibly fast and the place that I am in now is so vastly different from where I was a year ago. I am so grateful that I spent one year studying the law in high school rather than three years in law school coming to the same realization that it is not for me. While there have most definitely been ups and downs this year, I am filled with gratitude to have had the most supportive mentor during this time of soul-searching, and to have been able to be honest with myself in that I was wrong about what I thought was my passion.


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page