top of page

Brainstorming

Weekly Report 04/10/2018 to 04/16/2018

Recently, I met with my mentor to discuss my final product progress and what direction I should be moving in. She reached out to a couple other professionals (former Mayor Maher Maso, Congressman Van Taylor, and the Plano History Department Head Mitch Matuska), and provided me with the contact information for John Bruce, the Frisco Chief of Police. While these are all wonderful contacts, she and I both agreed that it is important to get the perspective of those most impacted by gun violence, so she recommended that I reach out to my teachers or those in Plano that might feel more comfortable sharing their opinions since my film is not in their school district, as well as the Frisco ISD walkout organizers to get their viewpoints on the subject.

These are all excellent starting points and I am excited to move forward with more interviews, however, my mentor and I are continuing to discuss how I can still tie everything back to my study of the law. Luckily, having her, Sheriff Box, and Senator Van Taylor’s point of views will provide the legal basis for the documentary. However, my mentor suggested that I tie everything back to the law by basing all of my independent research for the voiceover part of the film on the Constitution and our Texas state laws. This will hopefully help to tie everything into my topic of the law so that I can share my knowledge of criminal disputes and possibly some additional specific cases dealing with gun violence (which should not be difficult since it is such a relevant topic right now). I am very excited to move forward and begin piecing together the narrative of my documentary through editing, and plan to do so during our Fine Arts spring trip eighteen-hour bus rides!


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page