top of page

First Time's the Charm

Weekly Report 09/26/2017 to 10/02/2017

Learning to love learning is the most important skill one can develop. Being able to synthesize new information and explore the depths of knowledge at all ages is the path to progress and improvement. This week, I spent a lot of time researching human and civil rights. My heart was set on constitutional law just a week ago, but after dedicating some time to learn more about this type of law, I have realized how little I knew about it before.

My initial assumption was that human rights law focused on smaller, more specific local cases that operated primarily on a case-by-case basis. However, in discovering new information through my research assessment, I have come to understand that this type of law makes up much of the landmark Supreme Court cases which I had not realized were focused on civil rights before. In fact, these cases are more likely to be taken to the federal level because they are more likely to begin as civil cases rather than criminal ones. In learning this, I have realized that it would be beneficial for me to add civil litigation attorneys to my contact list in order to find out more about this field of law.

In addition to learning more about civil and human rights law, this week, I tried my first cold call. Surprisingly enough, my first call procured an interview right off the bat. This was hugely motivating for me, but led to a sharp disappointment when calling the rest of my contact list and being sent to voicemail for most of these. I have not felt the frustration that I would have had I not received an interview at all, but it still is not the best feeling to be leaving messages that probably will not be answered. Since I have run out of contacts, I am working on filling up a new list with civil litigators and also some judges so that I can explore many different types of legal practices and widen my range for possible mentors.


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page