top of page

Patience

Weekly Report 01/02/2018 to 01/08/2018

In the words of Winston Churchill, “Success is not final; failure is not fatal: It is the courage to continue that counts.” This week, I met with Ms. Terri Green, a probate attorney with her own private practice, a judge for mental illness cases, the founder of Teen court, and a former local politician. She was so kind to invite me to come earlier in order to sit in on a meeting with one of her clients, as well as give me a tour of her office building. I truly enjoyed getting to meet with her and hear about her incredible journey in the law, and was overjoyed that she wanted to be my mentor for this year.

Just a month ago, I had asked a different judge for juvenile courts to be my mentor, and she, very politely, had to decline. I was grateful for the ability to have met with her and to have gained so much knowledge about the difference between being a judge and a lawyer, as well as for the experience in dealing with rejection. This experience really taught me how to be patient and to trust that there will be better opportunities out there when one does not work out.

I am extremely excited to be studying under Ms. Terri Green this year with all of her expertise in so many different legal professions. Because I am studying many topics related to the law, she is the perfect mentor in that she has experience as a lawyer, a judge, a politician, and the creator of a nonprofit organization. I am so thrilled to be able to get an in depth understanding of each and every one of these occupations, and I am equally as excited to be able to meet with her plethora of contacts. Ms. Green shared with me so many ideas for mentor visits in which I would instead get to meet with other professionals through her connection, such as touring the district attorney’s office, meeting with her judge friends for lunch, and sitting in on different types of trials. I am very grateful that I was rejected initially by a different potential mentor because I would have never been exposed to this wonderful opportunity to be mentored by Ms. Terri Green.


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page