top of page

Original Work Presentation

Weekly Report 02/12/2018 to 02/18/2018

This past week, ISM students had their original work presentations. With this speech, I wanted to attempt to speak solely from bullet points or simply the titles on each slide and was impressed that it was not as difficult as I had expected it to be. Speaking from the heart based on information I knew well was not as challenging as it seemed earlier, and I almost had to stop myself from talking longer. I felt that, by forcing myself to understand what I was talking about and how to communicate my knowledge clearly, my whole speech became more natural because I paused less to look at my script and maintained a greater amount of eye contact.

Furthermore, in writing my speech outline, I realized more about why video marketing will be a better career option for me. Most of the other students had adorable background stories where they performed surgeries on their teddy bears or were always obsessed with theater. However, I have always had trouble connecting my hobbies from elementary and middle school with my current interest in the law. To explain why I chose to make my original work an educational, animated film, I brought up that I used to create stop motion videos with my American Girl Dolls for my old YouTube channel, then moved to making lots of whiteboard videos for Frisco Arts advertisements, my Mum Challenge, as well as other school projects. Video creation has always been a side hobby of mine that I believed would not be anything more than a hobby, but I am starting to realize that this is what makes me happy and what fuels my passion for creation. However, that does not take away from my love of the law. I have learned that I truly do enjoy debate and politics, but those are my actual hobbies; my real interests lie in creation and visual art.


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page